Because it’s helpful to understand the words flying around.

Artificial Intelligence (AI)

The ability of a computer, or computerized aspect, to mimic human intelligence or machine learning for the purpose of performing functions typical of a human being.

Graphic interchange format (gif)

A compressed file format used on the internet for displaying images, including moving images/animation, as a means of reducing their file size.

business continuity

The ability of a business to handle potential business disruptions, such as a cyber-attack, natural disaster or severe weather, so the organization can continue to operate.

Source Code

Source code is the part of software that most computer users don’t ever see. It’s the code programmers manipulate to control how a program or application behaves.

Click-Through Rate

CTR is a digital marketing metric that shows the percentage of people who clicked on your ad or link after seeing it. CTR is commonly used to show success of website advertisements or effectiveness of email campaigns.

Internet of Things (IoT)

The extension of the Internet to real objects and places when they are able to share data and interact with their surroundings through the use of chips and sensors.

Big Data

Collecting large amounts of information that can be analyzed to reveal patterns, trends, and behaviors.

Customer Experience

The relationship, or feeling, that a customer experiences each time they come in contact with your brand.

cyber resiliency

The ability to anticipate, withstand, adapt, and recover from a cyber attack.

Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

The process of improving the quality of website traffic from search engines organically (i.e. – unpaid web traffic).

Search Engine Marketing (SEM)

Internet marketing that drives visibility via the promotion of webpages in search engine results. (i.e. – paid web traffic)


An organization’s ability to grow without being hampered by its structure or available resources when faced with increased production.

Marketing Automation

The use of technology platforms to automate marketing processes, multifunctional campaigns, and repetitive tasks across multiple channels.


Material subject to copyright or other intellectual property that may be used without the need to pay royalties or license fees for each use.

Open-Source Software (OSS)

Computer software whose source code is open to the public, allowing anyone to use, study, change or distribute the software and its source code to anyone for any reason.


Words or phrases used to optimize a website or webpage to enhance the ranking and visibility on search engines.

Tech Stack

The combination, or stacking, of tools, programs, applications and services to build, run and grow productivity, efficiency and profitability.

Meta Tags

Webpage descriptions that validate and share information about your page with search engines.

Application Programming Interface (API)

A type of software interface that offers a service to another piece of software or a connection between computers or computer programs.

Cloud Computing

The use of on-demand computer system resources, data storage, and remote servers to store, manage and process data versus a local server or personal computer.

Data Backup

The process of duplicating data to help prevent data loss should a cyber attack occur.  Providing data redundancy helps the business restore valuable information in the case of data interruption or data loss. 

Software as a Service (Saas)

A subscription-based software distribution model where the provider hosts the software in the cloud and makes their product/program available to end users over the Internet versus downloadable or installed software.

Customer Relationship Management (CRM)

Technology for managing a company or organization’s interactions with customers and prospective customers to improve business relationships.


Amazon’s next-generation solid state drive (SSD) Elastic Block Store (EBS) volume. GP3 allows users to provision performance separate from storage capacity, while providing up to 20% lower price per GB than existing GP2 volumes.

Data Analytics

Examining raw data to understand behaviors and model conclusions about information received.

User Experience

The way a user interacts with your product or service.


Technology driven innovation in the insurance industry.

Voice Over Internet Protocol (VoIP)

Technology that allows you to make voice calls using a broadband Internet connection instead of a regular (or analog) phone line. VoIP services convert your voice into a digital signal that travels over the Internet.

Social selling

A lead-generation technique where salespeople directly interact with their prospects on social media platforms. Social selling is a way for sales teams to leverage social media to research, connect and interact with prospects and customers.


A common practice that converts data, information or other content into a code that once “encrypted” cannot be read without the “secret key.” This decryption key translates the encrypted information into readable and usable data.

Single Sign-On

Service permitting users one set of login credentials across multiple applications.

Two-Factor Authentication (2FA)

Verification process that requires login plus another verification check.


The number of times your content or advertisement is seen on social media.

A/B Test

A research method in which you create two variants, typically advertisements or emails, to see which email performs better. Ideally, the two emails only have one thing that is different with them in order to accurately test which style is more effective or impactful based on open and click through rate.

Advanced Analytics

An umbrella term for a group of high-level methods and tools that can help you get more out of your data. Advanced analytics employs autonomous or semi-autonomous predictive modeling and machine learning to discover deeper insights beyond those of traditional business intelligence. 


Phishing occurs when a cyber attacker sends a fraudulent email purporting to be from a reputable company in order to trick a person into revealing sensitive information, such as passwords or credit card numbers, or to deploy malicious software on the victim’s infrastructure. 

Business Intelligence (BI)

Applications, infrastructure, tools and best practices that help organizations optimize performance.

Content Management System (CMS)

Platforms used to manage the content of a website without the need for coding or HTML experience.


Users who have viewed or found your website/webpage via a natural keyword search versus through paid promotions or advertising.


A network security system that restricts both inbound and outbound internet traffic.  This system helps to protect the business or private networks from unauthorized access.


A system of collecting information together in groups – known as blocks – that are a shared, immutable ledger that facilitates the process of recording transactions and tracking business assets. Decentralized, distributed ledgers that record the provenance of a digital asset.

Computer Virus

A type of malware that includes malicious software code with intentions of altering the way a computer operates. It spreads by downloading after a user unknowingly clicks on the malicious link and replicates itself by editing other computer programs on the device.  


Any type of program that intentionally harms or disrupts a computer or network. Short for “malicious software”, malware includes viruses, worms, Trojan viruses, spyware, adware, and ransomware.  


A list of pages that acts as a blueprint of a website and includes all pages for a particular domain, as well as the relationship, or hierarchy, between the pages. A sitemap helps search engines, like Google, find, crawl, and index a website’s content.

Digital Inventory

A web or app-based system used to digitally organize and catalog items in homes, other personal property and/or business contents. This ensures that belongings and possessions are cataloged, providing thorough documentation of insurable items prior to a claim.

Machine Learning

Machine Learning is a branch of artificial intelligence (AI) that represents a wide variety of computer program algorithms and techniques that enable systems to learn and adapt without following instructions over time as it obtains more data. Other terms commonly used include neural networks, deep learning, and guided conversations.

Workflow Automation

Workflow Automation enables the replacement of paper-based and manual processes by designing, creating, deploying, and automating business processes based upon preset rules where work tasks are automatically triggered and routed between people, technology and data.

Drip Campaign

Drip campaigns use marketing automation technology to send a series of pre-planned emails based on specific timelines and/or user-based actions (i.e. – triggers) to a set audience. This type of personalized communication encourages engagement and increases the probability that the recipient will perform a specific action.

Disaster Recovery Plan

A set of policies, documented procedures, and tools or technology that allow an agency to restore vital technology systems and resume critical business operations after a natural or other disaster impacts the normal business functions.

HTML Email

Email formatted using Hypertext Markup Language (HTML), as opposed to plain text, to add visual design, imagery, colors, and structure to the body of an email. HTML emails look more professional and typically follow the brand’s image.

Content Marketing

A marketing strategy focused on creating and distributing relevant content, such as articles, videos, blogs, podcasts, etc. The goal is to attract and retain an audience by establishing expertise, increasing brand awareness, and engagement.

Bounce Rate

The percentage of visitors who view only one page on your site and then leave without taking any other action, such as visiting another page or clicking a link.

Augmented Reality

An enhanced or modified version of a real-life environment achieved through the use of digital visual elements, sound, or other sensory stimuli delivered via technology.

Boolean Search

A structured search where you can use words such as AND, OR, NOT, and “quotes” to limit or broaden your search results and be very particular about what you are looking for.

3D Printing

The action or process of making three-dimensional solid objects from a digital model. 3D printing typically involves laying down many thin layers of material in succession to construct a three-dimensional object from a CAD model or digital 3D model. 


Campaigns are marketing activities aimed at building interest and awareness around a company’s products, services, and/or brand.

– Outbound campaigns may include email broadcasts to introduce a new product, print advertisements, cold calling, or company events.

– Inbound campaigns may include search engine optimization (SEO), social media, or webforms to collect contact information for those who want to learn more about a product, service, or company.


A cloud-based software company that provides customer relationship management (CRM) software and applications focused on sales, customer service, marketing automation, analytics, and application development.


Google’s main method of ranking web pages for placement on a search engine results page. It’s an algorithm used by Google Search to determine the order of search results based on the importance of each web page.

Cost Per Thousand (CPM)

Typically referenced in online advertising as the cost of 1,000 impressions for a web page or ad. For example, a digital ad may cost $4 CPM, which is $4 for every 1,000 views.

Voice Computing

Voice computing includes three distinct categories. 

– Voice to text: You talk to a device, and it converts your speech to text. This is commonly known as Voice Recognition.  

– Text to Voice: The device converts text to voice to provide verbal information. An example would be your GPS giving you voice instructions. 

– Conversational: You talk to a device, and it talks back to you. Early examples are Siri and Google Now. The most talked-about current example is the Amazon Echo using Alexa and also Google Home.

WCAG 2.1

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) that define how to make web content more accessible to people with disabilities. Accessibility involves a wide range of disabilities, including visual, auditory, physical, speech, cognitive, language, learning and neurological disabilities. 


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